Australia confirms England tour, Glenn Maxwell returns to squad | Cricket News

MELBOURNE: Australia confirmed on Friday subsequent month’s limited-overs tour of England, boosting the England and Wales Cricket Board’s (ECB) bid to navigate previous a monetary disaster introduced by the novel coronavirus.
Beginning on Sept. 4, Australia will play three Twenty20 Internationals in Southampton earlier than transferring to a different bio-secure venue in Manchester for an equal variety of one-dayers, all of which have been scheduled to happen in July.
“We owe a major debt of gratitude to the gamers, employees and directors of Cricket Australia for his or her efforts in getting this tour underway,” ECB chief govt Tom Harrison mentioned in a press release.
“It may also present much-needed monetary support in any respect ranges of cricket in England and Wales as we work by the challenges in entrance of us.”
The tour would enable the ECB to finish all 18 worldwide fixtures it had scheduled earlier than the pandemic struck.
The Australian authorities on Wednesday granted journey exemptions for Aaron Finch and his males, Cricket Australia (CA) mentioned whereas saying a 21-member squad for the staff’s first worldwide tour because the coronavirus outbreak started.
“It’s very important for cricket that we do every little thing we will to maintain the sport getting in these powerful instances,” Australia coach Justin Langer mentioned.
“I’m delighted with how the gamers have returned to their states from the break again in March. The complete squad has come again fitter and stronger, which is nice testomony to every of them.”
All-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who took a break final yr to deal with psychological well being points, returned to the aspect having recovered from an elbow harm.
Australia squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Source link