Ranji Trophy to not be performed on zonal foundation | Cricket News

MUMBAI: Contrary to hypothesis, the BCCI just isn’t going again to the zonal system for the Ranji Trophy this season, which can see 136 matches being held this season-33 lower than the earlier one, in wake of the Covid-19 pandemic. Instead, to keep away from travelling throughout the matches in every group shall be performed on 4 grounds in two cities.
As per a provisional schedule of the home season, about which TOI had reported solely on Sunday, groups have been divided into 5 teams. Groups A, B & C will encompass eight groups every, whereas Group D will comprise six, seven or eight groups. The prime two groups in teams A, B & C will qualify for the knockouts.
All the six Northeastern groups have been clubbed in Group E. Interestingly, in an innovation, the Board has launched a brand new spherical – the winner of Group D will face the first-placed workforce of Group E for a pre-quarterfinal, the winner of which can transfer into the quarterfinals.
The bottom-placed groups of teams A, B & C get relegated to Group D, whereas the highest three groups from Group D get promoted to teams A, B & C. The bottom-placed workforce in Group D shall be relegated to Group E, whereas the highest positioned workforce from Group E shall be promoted to Group D.

Source link