Jaspal Rana and Jude Felix in line for Dronacharya award | More sports activities News

NEW DELHI: One’s exclusion from the checklist of Dronacharya recipients final 12 months was challenged within the Delhi High Court, whereas the opposite was unceremoniously sacked because the junior males’s group coach by Hockey India (HI) halfway into his tenure in June 2019.
But, on Monday, each Jaspal Rana, Indian taking pictures’s long-standing pistol coach, and Jude Felix, a former India captain, have been really useful for the celebrated Dronacharya award, the nation’s highest teaching honour. While Jaspal, a a number of Asian Games gold-medallist shooter, was denied the Dronacharya final 12 months after it was alleged that none of his protégés, together with Manu Bhaker and Saurabh Chaudhary, talked about him as their coaches in official information. Similarly, Felix, who took over the reins of the junior group in August 2017, was proven the exit door by HI following a collection of below-par performances by the reigning junior world champions.
A 12-member committee, headed by Retired Supreme Court Justice, Mukundakam Sharma, on Monday, picked an unprecedented 13 names for the Dronacharya, whereas an equally astonishing 15 names have been really useful for the Dhyanchand award, given to sportspersons for his or her lifetime achievements and contribution to sport throughout each their lively profession and following retirement. A single choice committee has been constituted to pick out the awardees amongst each athletes and coaches. The committee will advocate the names of athletes for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award on Tuesday. Indian cricketer Rohit Sharma and girl wrestler Vinesh Phogat lead the race for the Khel Ratna.
While Jaspal was really useful after each his protégés, Manu Bhaker and Saurabh Chaudhary, who’ve already certified for Tokyo Olympics, credited the veteran coach for grooming them into world-class shooters. Felix, alternatively, was really useful after he knowledgeable in his award’s software type to have coached gamers who made a profitable transition from junior to senior stage in simply 12 months, moreover mentoring the Indian group which received gold on the 2014 Incheon Asian Games.
The most attention-grabbing half about at the moment’s choice was the variety of suggestions by the committee. Last 12 months, a distinct choice committee had really useful 5 names for Dhyanchand and one other eight for Dronacharya, each first within the awards’ historical past. As per the federal government’s awards choice standards, a committee can advocate three names for Dhyanchand and 5 for Dronacharya. But this 12 months, the committee has forwarded 15 names for Dhyanchand and 13 names for Dronacharya to the sports activities ministry for its ultimate approval.
Some of the opposite names really useful in Dronacharya (lifetime) embody long-serving archery coach Dharmendra Tiwari, who formed the careers of Deepika Kumari, Atanu Das and Jayant Talukdar, amongst others, former ladies’s boxing coach Shiv Singh, former males’s hockey coach Romesh Pathania (mentored committee member Sardar Singh, P R Sreejesh and V R Raghunath, amongst others), Naresh Kumar (tennis) and O P Dahiya (wrestling). In the common Dronacharya class, the names of Gaurav Khanna (para-badminton), Kuldeep Handoo (wushu) and Yogesh Malviya (mallakhamb) have been really useful.
For Dhyanchand, the names of Atlanta Olympian and five-time nationwide boxing champion, Lakha Singh, whose poor monetary situation compelled him to drive a rented taxi in Ludhiana, and former Davis Cup captain and coach, Nandan Bal, have been really useful. Some of the opposite 15 names embody Jincy Philips (athletics), Trupti Murgunde (badminton), Sukhwinder Singh Sandhu (soccer) and late Sachin Nag (swimming), amongst others.
List of really useful Dronacharya awardee: Lifetime class: Dharmendra Tiwari (archery), Purshottam Rai (athletics), Shiv Singh (boxing), Romesh Pathania (hockey), Ok Ok Hooda (kabaddi), Vijay Munishwar (para powerlifting), Naresh Kumar (tennis), O P Dahiya (wrestling). Regular class: Yogesh Malviya (mallakhamb), Gaurav Khanna (para badminton), Jaspal Rana (taking pictures), Kuldeep Handoo (wushu) and Jude Felix (hockey).
Recommended Dhyanchand awardee: Jincy Philips (athletics), Kuldeep Singh Bhullar (athletics), Trupti Murgunde (badminton), Pradeep Gandhe (badminton), N Usha (boxing), Lakha Singh (boxing), Sukhwinder Singh Sandhu (soccer), Ajeet Singh (hockey), Manpreet Singh (kabaddi), Manjeet Singh (rowing), Late Sachin Nag (swimming), Nandan Bal (tennis), Netar Pal Hooda (wrestling) and J Ranjit Kumar (para athletics)

Source link